LDBSA President’s Trophy 2016

Hosted by Lincoln Snooker Club

Local snooker players raised £350 for a local charity in the annual Lincoln billiards and snooker association’s President’s Trophy.

The handicapped competition was held at the Lincoln Snooker Club and the benefitting organisation, chosen by league president Roy Froggatt, was the local Baby’s Basket charity on Brigg Grove, Lincoln.

An excellent field of 17 players supported the event and they produced an entertaining day of snooker throughout.

Seven-time Lincoln champion Matt Lee won the event, beating Stuart Cannings 2-0 in the final despite conceding 35 points a frame.

Playing off a handicap of minus seven, Lee was forced to dig deep throughout the day, being pushed in all his matches prior to the final.

The competitors included ten-year-old Edward Taylor. A student at the Lincoln snooker club’s Saturday coaching programme, he reached the quarter-finals before just losing out to Dek Binnington 2-1 on the final black.


Lincoln Billiards & Snooker Association President’s Trophy

Sunday 30th October 2016

Preliminary Round:

Reg Biggs (+28) 2 Gary Barton (+56) 1

Last 16:

Stuart Cannings (+28) 2 Biggs 0; Iain Waterfield (+28) 2 Dave Coutts (+28) 1;

Carl Wilkinson (SCR) 2 Lee Applewhite (SCR) 1; Dean Christopher (SCR) 2 Steve Robinson (+28) 0;

Matt Lee (-7) 2 Chris Brodigan 1 (+42); Brandon Staples (+56) 2 Dale Schofield (-7) 1;

Dek Binnington (+42) 2 Phil Cross (+49) 0; Edward Taylor (+77) 2 Roy Froggatt (+56) 0.


Stuart Cannings 2  Iain Waterfield 1; Carl Wilkinson 2 Dean Christopher 0;

Matt Lee 2 Brandon Staples 0; Dek Binnington 2 Edward Taylor 1;


Stuart Cannings 2 Carl Wilkinson 0; Matt Lee 2 Dek Binnington 1;


Matt Lee 2 Stuart Cannings 0;

No Replies to "LDBSA President's Trophy 2016"